Home News Update Professor Toyin Falola – The Most-Decorated Nigerian Scholar in The US
Professor Toyin Falola –  The Most-Decorated Nigerian Scholar in The US

Professor Toyin Falola – The Most-Decorated Nigerian Scholar in The US


Toyin Falola is the Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professor in History at the University of Texas at Austin. A Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Letters, he is the author of numerous books, many edited books including Traditional Change in Africa and African Writers and Readers.

Falola began his academic career as a school teacher in Pahayi in 1970 and by 1981 he was a lecturer at the University of Ife. He joined the faculty at the University of Texas at Austin in 1991, and has also held short-term teaching appointments at the university of Cambridge in England, York university  in Canada, Smith College of Massachusetts in the United States, The Australian National University in Canberra, Australia and the Nigerian institutes of International Affairs in Lagos, Nigeria.

He is the co-editor of the Journal of African Economic History, Series Editor of Rochester Studies in African History and the Diaspora, and the Series Editor of the Culture and Customs of Africa by Greenwood Press. He has received various awards and honors, including the Jean Holloway Award for Teaching Excellence, the Texas Exes Teaching Award, and the Ibn Khaldun Distinguished Award for Research Excellence.

For his singular and distinguished contribution to the study of Africa, his students and colleagues have presented him with three Festschrifts – two edited by Adebayo Oyebade, The Transformation of Nigeria: Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola, and The Foundations of Nigeria: Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola, and one edited by Akin Ogundiran, Pre-Colonial Nigeria: Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola. He has recently published an acclaimed memoir, A Mouth Sweeter than Salt: An African Memoir.


Some of his awards are listed below:

2014 FINALIST – 2014 Albert J. Raboteau Prize for the Best Book in Africana Religions, presented by the Journal of Africana Religions for Yemoja: Gender, Sexuality, and Creativity in the Latina/o and Afro-Atlantic Diasporas.

2010 Nigerian Studies Association Best Book Award, for Colonialism and Violence in Nigeria.

2010 Cecil B. Currey, Honorable Mention Winner, ATWS for Colonialism and Violence in Nigeria.

2005 Winner, Cecil B. Currey Award, Association of Third World Studies for Economic Reforms and Modernization in Nigeria

2004 – 2005 Herskovits Award Finalist, African Studies Association award for best English-language book in African Studies, for A Mouth Sweeter Than Salt

Hamilton Runners-up, (University of Texas Coop) for A Mouth Sweeter Than Salt

2004 Conover-Porter Finalist Certificate, African Studies Association, for Key Events in African History: A Reference Guide.

2003 Choice Outstanding Academic Title for Sources and Methods in African History.

2014 Chieftaincy: The Bobagbimo of Ugboland, November.

2014 Chieftaincy: The Bobapitan of Ibadanland, Ibadan.

Chieftaincy: Mayegun of Auga, Akoko, 2000.

2014 Merit Award (National Association of Students of English and Literary Studies, Nigeria,).

2013 Top Nigerian-American Award, CANAN, New York, September.

2013 The Distinguished Margaret Ekpo Merit Award for Academic Mentorship, Institution
Building and Selfless Service to Humanity (By the Network of Benue and Cross
River Historians, September).

2013 Pro Bene Meritis Award, Faculty of Liberal Arts, University of Texas at Austin.

2012 Topp’s African-Centered Scholar of the Decade Awards (conferred at ATWS meeting,
Berry College, October).

2012 Dean’s Distinguished Scholarship and Leadership Award, Office of Women’s Affair,
Indiana University Bloomington.

2011 Distinguished Africanist Award (African Studies Association).

2011 Africa and the African Diaspora Excellent Leadership Award (IBC, University of Ibadan
and TOFAC)

2011 Distinguished Africana Award (University of North Carolina, Charlotte, April, 2011).

2010 Career Research Excellence Award (University of Texas at Austin).

2010 Nigeria Diaspora Academic Prize.

2009 Mwalimu Julius Nyerere Chair of Modern African History at- Large, Benue State
University, Makurdi, Nigeria.

2009 Africana Studies Distinguished Global Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award, Indiana
University Purdue University Indianapolis.

2009 Ibadan Foundation Award, Ibadan, Nigeria.


Olasunkanmi Olasunkanmi is an information geek, a passionate story teller, a dynamic entrepreneur and a lover of any tool that can make maximum impact in the the life of fellow young men and women.